Rainsville

IMG_1361.JPG

The sun is shinning while I walked to class mid-afternoon this week. I was starting regret my outfit choice that consisted of a long sleeve shirt and a rain jacket. I entered my lecture hall and an hour and a half later I walked out side and it was pouring.

The city of Gainesville is notorious for false advertising of weather. The weather changes faster in Gainesville than a first-year student changing there major from pre-medto business. Ponchos, rain jackets, umbrellas and hunter rain boots are all accessories that are required for living in the swamp.

Rainesville has caught all of its residents by surprise and to compensate for the dramatic altercations of weather the University of Florida has created Poncho distribution spots. These spots are located in all lecture halls and libraries on campus.

The rain might be perceived as a disappointment but the rain does not interfere with our sporting events, classes or daily activities. This fall I stood in the rain, along with 80,000 people, in the Ben Hill Griffin stadium cheering for the gators to win against a rival team.

On average, the weather in Gainesville is sunny and warm, but always keep those rain boots close and an umbrella in your back pocket.

Leave a comment